League of Women Voters of Nebraska

LWV of Nebraska Logo
Photo 1 of League members in gallery at Legislative Day 2022

Join an
Action Team

The state board includes officers as well as directors (or co-directors) who head seven action teams for the LWVNE. Six of the seven LWVNE action teams mirror committees of the Nebraska Legislature. Every bill introduced to the Nebraska Legislature receives a hearing in a legislative committee. The various action teams of the LWVNE work on issues at the state level. Members from local Leagues across the state and members at large are encouraged to work with these LWVNE state action teams. Contact the directors to join an action team.

Education Policy Action Team

  • Education  Co-Directors: Taylor Sterba & Renee Garcia
  • taylor@lwvnebraska.org; renee@lwvnebraska.org
  • Before each legislative session, Taylor, Renee and the action team review the bills that will be heard in the Legislature’s Education Committee. Periodically, the action team may monitor events or studies related to education.

Government Action Team

  • Government Co-Directors: Joanna LindbergSheri St Clair
  • joanna@lwvnebraska.org; sheri@lwvnebraska.org
  • Before each legislative session, Joanna, Sheri and the action team review bills that will be heard in the Legislature’s Military, Government and Veterans Affairs and Executive Board Committees.

Health Policy Action Team

  • Health Care Director: Dr. Amber Keebler Brown
  • Before each legislative session, the Dr. Brown and the action team review bills that will be heard in the Legislature’s Health and Human Services Committee.

Disability and Behavioral Health Action Team

  • Mental & Behavioral Health Co-Directors: Aimée Folker & Angela Gleason.
  • afolker@lwvnebraska.org;  angela@lwvnebraska.org
  • Before each legislative session, Aimée and Angela and the action team review bills that will be heard in the Health and Human Services, Education and other relevant committees.

Natural Resources & Energy Action Team

  • Natural Resources & Energy Director: Claudia Stevenson 
  • claudia@lwvnebraska.org
  • Before each legislative session, Claudia and the action team review bills that will be heard in the Natural Resources and Agriculture Committees.
  •  

Social Policy Action Team

  • Social Policy Co-Directors: Cat Henning & Krystal Fox
  • Cat@lwvgo.org, krystal@lwvnebraska.org
  • Before each legislative session Cat and Krystal and the action team review the bills that will be heard in various legislative committees that touch on social policy issues such as judicial reform, education, and urban and rural affairs.

Voter Services Action Team

  • Voter Services Director: Carolyn Thiele
  • Before each legislative session, Carolyn and the action team review bills that will be heard in various committees of the Legislature that address voting and voting rights. This team works with the Government Action Team during legislative sessions.
  •  A statewide “Know Your Voting Rights” campaign includes a brochure that is available  in PDF form in English and Spanish.

Interested in Supporting our Cause?